Shiny Challah

A completed challah.

Image via Wikipedia

Some friends and I were wondering how to get that shiny challah coating.  We know how to get it brown, but the shine was alluding us.  I have figured out the secret-it’s all in the wash.  If you use only the egg white, you get the brown.  If you use all of the egg for your wash, you get the challah both brown and shiny.

One caveat: I do not use aluminum foil to place my bread on.  I use parchment paper.  In fact anything that says it needs to be wrapped in foil, I will wrap it in parchment paper first, then put the foil over the parchment paper.

This post is part of  Shabbat Shalom ~ Link Up #11. Other posts can be found here.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CarmenV
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 13:50:21

    Yeah! you are correct, what a difference it makes. I started using a whole egg not long ago as well, don’t use it all so I give the rest to the dogs, they love it.
    And yes, our dogs do get a piece of Challat every Shabbat with us. Shabbat shalom to you and thanks for sharing! Blessings ~Carmen

    Reply

  2. abrianna
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 14:19:53

    LOL Carmen! I let my cats eat the leftover egg.

    Reply

  3. mommysetfree
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 14:43:08

    Too funny, I give the left over egg to my dog to lick up too. 🙂 (She loves it – and its good for them! Her coat is as shiny as our Challah…win win!)

    Reply

  4. Andi
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 17:12:15

    I just found your blog through the Shabbat link – up….Shalom and I just found out the whole egg thingy too! Well a couple of weeks ago….hmmmm….but I did not think to give it to my dog…LOL!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

