Voting No

My congregation held a meeting and vote recently on purchasing a sound system. We are moving into our new building and there is no system there.

There was discussion about it and the options were presented. One leader likened our moving into this building as moving into our promised land-the same way God brought the Israelites into Israel.

When it came down to voting we were told that in the Bible when God told people to do something, they did it right away. I’m not sure where he got that idea because that is not true. The Bible is full of people who waited before doing what God said-some due to rebellion, but not everyone.

He also went on to say that we should not be like the 10 spies who went to survey the land and brought back a poor report. He also went on to say that God gave us the building and why wouldn’t we want to move forward…etc..

I thought to myself “Wow! Good to know where their stance is. They believe that voting no means one has no faith.” Someone else in the congregation thought that too, and challenged him on that. She said that was not fair and judgmental.

I think it is manipulation, pure and simple. Hoping to guilt people into giving him what he wants. That does not sit well with me at all.

Our rabbi did say that no, that is not what he thinks and he was sorry it came across that way. The leader who originally made that statement remained silent. I am waiting to see how other things are presented because there will be a lot of things to vote on in the upcoming months. I want to see if that same mentality is used every time a vote comes up. If it does I will have to see if I should speak up and tell them to stop the manipulation.

Technorati Tags: , , , ,

Powered by ScribeFire.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mrs. C
    Jun 05, 2008 @ 05:27:28

    You mean you get to VOTE on stuff? A lot of congregations don’t. The “man of God” is in charge of the church and you’d better shut up.

    It still might be a great idea to vote yes (I wouldn’t know) but I don’t like my arm twisted either.

    Reply

  2. abrianna
    Jun 05, 2008 @ 21:25:05

    Most people I know still do get to vote in their congregations. I do know the other type exists.

    This issue was not an immediate need-it is a need but we could have improvised something else for a while and waited for the funds to come in. I was in the minority and the vote passed. That’s fine, but those that passed it should support it.

    The manipulation is what stands out most in my mind-and it does make me think twice about the proposal –any proposal-when it’s presented in that manner.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

