Using Honey

Most of us know about the tip of using oil before using honey. What if you don’t have cooking spray and your recipe calls for honey but no oil?

I take my one cup Pyrex measuring cup and put my measuring spoon or cup over it. I pour the oil into the measuring instrument then dump the oil back into the measuring cup. Make sure you use a cup with a spout. I can then pour the unused oil back into the original container-this way you still get the honey out of whatever you’re using and you are not wasting oil. I have never had oil spill on the counter when I’ve done this-just pour the oil back into the container carefully.

This is a WFMW post over at Rocks in My Dryer.

Technorati Tags: , , , ,

Powered by ScribeFire.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa/The Apron Queen
    May 20, 2008 @ 21:41:31

    Now why didn’t I think of that?! 😀

    Stop on by… I’m cooking with margaritas!

    For your daily dose of vintage goodness & a bit of silliness, stop by Confessions of an Apron Queen, the home of Vintage Thingies Thursdays.

    Reply

  2. CC
    May 20, 2008 @ 22:47:00

    I’ve never heard of using oil before honey, but it totally makes sense!

    Reply

  3. zeynepankara
    May 21, 2008 @ 07:59:23

    I use butter before honey 🙂

    Reply

  4. Amy
    May 21, 2008 @ 11:00:47

    Abrianna, I haven’t heard of this tip. Can you elaborate (oooh, with pictures?)?

    Reply

  5. Julie
    May 21, 2008 @ 13:49:55

    I hadn’t heard of using oil before honey either. Great idea!
    Julie

    Reply

  6. abrianna
    May 21, 2008 @ 21:31:27

    Zeynepankara,

    I hadn’t thought of that but you could butter the ustensil before putting honey in it. That’s a good alternative.

    Reply

  7. abrianna
    May 21, 2008 @ 21:33:23

    Amy,

    I am not in the digital age (gasp-horrors I know!) so I can not post pictures. I would be willing to do another post on it for you-let me know what you need more detail on.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

