Baking Soda vs. Ants

This is a post for Works-For-Me-Wednesday over at Rocks In My Dryer. If you have ants in a place you don’t want-such as a swarm of them in your mailbox, baking soda to the rescue.

I had this problem so I took some baking soda and sprinkled it liberally throughout the box. Within 24 hours, there were no more ants. Now just to be sure no more ants got in and to kill any possible eggs that might be there, I left it on another 24 hours. Then just sweep it out and no more ants!

It worked for me!

Technorati Tags: , ,

Powered by ScribeFire.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joanne
    Apr 30, 2008 @ 19:47:55

    I’ve never heard that baking soda kills ants.. but it’s sure worth a try. I just wonder if baking soda will kill the dreaded fire ant we have here in Texas?? If it does.. then that should be a quick and cheap fix for one of my major headaches right now in the garden.. and in the yard.

    Blessings,
    ~Joanne

    Reply

  2. Joanne
    Apr 30, 2008 @ 19:48:55

    P.S.. I love your new look on your blog. This is a very nice cool summer color.

    Blessings,
    ~Joanne

    Reply

  3. abrianna
    Apr 30, 2008 @ 20:44:23

    I’m glad you like my new look!

    I don’t know if it would work for fire ants but it is worth a shot. If you know where the hill is, smother the hill with the soda and see what happens. At the very least, it won’t hurt and if it doesn’t work, at least it’s not a poison.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

