Halloween?

Inspired by Sallie’s post, I thought I would explore the topic here in depth. I did celebrate it as a kid, and it was fun, but knowing what I know about it now, I don’t and I won’t let my blessing participate in it either. She will grow up not celebrating it, so that will be the status quo for her.

One commenter summed it up best: how does celebrating Halloween glorify Yeshua? I could not find any way that it does. The nice thing for us is that because we celebrate the Lord’s Feast Days, we have other things to do that do celebrate Autumn, and I hope my blessing will see that she is not missing out on anything.

Honestly, after all the preparation for Yom Teruah, Yom Kippur, and Sukkot-the Season of our Joy, I’m glad to have a break until Thanksgiving-which is really a second Sukkot to us. Because we do these things, we form other traditions and we still get to decorate the house. And a few of the Feasts last a week or more-Sukkot, Pesach (Passover) and Hanukkah are all eight days.

In the spring we have the Festival of Purim-like Hanukkah it is not a commanded Feast Day, although both are mentioned in the Bible. In fact, the only time Hannukah is mentioned is in the New Testament. However, I digress-and Purim is a festival geared mostly for children with games and dressing up in costumes, generally the biblical characters in the story.

It is so nice to see that by following His Appointed Times, we get to celebrate the Autumn season, decorate the house, make family traditions and holiday foods and not have all this angst about whether it glorifies Yeshua or not.

Psalm 34:8: “O taste and see that the LORD [is] good: blessed [is] the man [that] trusteth in him.”

Technorati Tags: , , ,

Powered by ScribeFire.

Leave a Reply

