Autumn Longing

I do enjoy Autumn but how I long to see the colors again! That’s why I enjoy my tablecloth so much-it brings all those autumn colors into my home. I have more color inside on my table than there is outside.

It’s not that I can’t appreciate some of the beauty here-but autumn here is completely different than what I’ve known. Last week we had temps in the 90’s or close to it. This week we will be in the 80’s or close to it-so yes I am still in shorts and short sleeves. The climate in general is milder, which is nice, although we do get cold in the winter-so cold you don’t want to leave your house.

If anyone has seen the “Sarah, Plain and Tall” series, I am in the same predicament she was. Her stepdaughter wrote that Sarah tried to love the land, but couldn’t help herself-she couldn’t help what she knew first.

I am the same way-I can’t help or forget what I knew first. Other people here say how beautiful it is this time of year, and I’m sure it is to them, especially if they haven’t seen Autumn in other places. I keep quiet, because I don’t want to spoil their joy. Most of them would not understand or would be offended as to why I can’t agree them. It’s not their fault-they can’t help but remember what they knew first.

What I knew first was Autumn with riots of color in the trees.

Technorati Tags: , , ,

Powered by ScribeFire.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Joanne
    Oct 12, 2007 @ 14:23:02

    Autumn is my favorite season of the year too. I love the smells, the colors, and the cooler, drier weather.

    If I remembe right from the Sarah Plain and Tall series, she was from Maine where the colors of autumn are riotous..and most beautiful. I can understand how she felt when the plains she moved to had little autumn color. I know when I lived away from the trees, I longed to see the leaves changing and to smell woodsmoke and leaves burning in the autumn.

    Btw..Love your new colors on the page. I hope you keep them for a while. So very nice.

    ~Joanne

    Reply

Leave a Reply

