Preparation Day Linky #14

 

 

 

 

I know I have not done this in a while and on Friday there will be an explanation of why I stopped for a while. I have been trying to cook ahead a bit and this can work well for nay Shabbat meal. Instead of spending a weekend or one day a month doing marathon cooking, I take a simpler approach. I cook two meals at a time-one for that night or the next night and one to freeze. This way I am not taking a whole weekend or day to do it which for me is not practical.

Here is a tip from Values Driven Family that I have tried and it works well. After the meal is frozen in the pan, put a 2-3 inches of hot water in your sink and let your pan sit in it for a few moments. Take a knife and go around the edges of the pan and lift it out-it will come out in one solid piece. Then wrap in a double layer of foil and stick in the freezer-this frees up space and lets you use the pan again.

She suggests using wax paper but I suggest using parchment paper to line your pan. When I wrap, I wrap the meal in the parchment paper first, then, double wrap in foil. This way there is no aluminum sticking to the food.

More tips are here.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kim
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 10:55:50

    Great idea, thanks!

    Reply

  2. Joycelyn Connet
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 14:52:28

    Great ideas- thanks so much for sharing!
    Joycelyn

    Reply

  3. MommySetFree (Pamela)
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 16:54:02

    That is a great tip! :-) I pray all is well with you and yours. Its always a pleasure to see you on the linkies.

    Reply

  4. Traci
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 20:04:14

    It’s a great idea…I hate having my cooking dishes in the freezer when I need to make something else…thanks:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

